Wine 101 - Beaujolais

Celebrate Beaujolais Nouveau Day 2014 with our classic guide to the region.


« Prev Next » 4 of 17
Three classes of Beaujolais

Beaujolais is broken down into three distinct classes. The broadest is the generic Beaujolais appellation, which can include the vineyards located anywhere within the AOC. The basic Beaujolais wine need only ripen to provide 9% alcohol, 10% if it is to be labeled as Beaujolais Supérieur. Not surprisingly, much of the fruit that comes from these vineyards has found a home in the light, fruity Beaujolais Nouveau.

Mentioned in this article


Add a Comment

Search Articles

Best Wine Deals

See More Deals

Snooth Media Network